Linda B. Gambrell (Inducted 2004)

Clemson University, Clemson, SC, USA


LGAMB [at]

Mailing Address: 

127 Steeplechase, Belton, SC 29627



Curriculum Vitae: 

Biographical Statement

         Linda B. Gambrell is Distinguished Professor of Education in the Eugene T. Moore School of Education at Clemson University where she teaches graduate and undergraduate literacy courses.  From 1999 - 2006 she was the Director of the School of Education at Clemson University.  Prior to coming to Clemson University in 1999, she was Associate Dean for Research in the College of Education at the University of Maryland – College Park.  She began her career as an elementary classroom teacher and reading specialist in Prince George's County, Maryland.  From 1992-97, she was a principal investigator at the National Reading Research Center at the University of Maryland where she directed the Literacy Motivation Project.  She has served as President of the three leading professional organizations for reading, the International Reading Association, National Reading Conference/Literacy Research Association, and College Reading Association/Association of Literacy Educators and Researchers.      

            Her major research areas are literacy motivation, reading comprehension, and the role of discussion in teaching and learning. Her research has been published in major scholarly journals including Reading Research Quarterly, Educational Psychologist, Elementary School Journal, and Journal of Educational Research.  She currently serves as co-editor of Reading Research Quarterly (with Susan B. Neuman, NYU).

            Linda was elected to the Reading Hall of Fame in 2004.  In 2014 she was the recipient of the Clemson University Alumni Award for Outstanding Reseach Achievement.  She has also received professional honors and awards including the William S. Gray International Reading Association Award (2011), College Reading Association Laureate Award (2002); National Reading Conference Albert J. Kingston Award (2001), International Reading Association Outstanding Teacher Educator in Reading Award (1998), and the College Reading Association A.B. Herr Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Field of Reading (1994).