R. Malatesha Joshi (inducted 2021)

University Professor of Literacy and Educational Psychology, Texas A & M University, College Station, TX 77843


mjoshi [at] tamu.edu

Mailing Address: 

3792, Calusa Springs Drive, College Station, TX 77843

Curriculum Vitae: 

Biographical Statement

R. Malatesha Joshi, Ph.D. is the University Professor of Literacy Education and Educational Psychology at Texas A&M University, and the Editor of Reading and Writing: An Interdisciplinary Journal, a high-impact journal and the monograph series Literacy Studies. From 1979-2002, Joshi received funding from North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) to direct international institutes on literacy in Europe and has received nearly 20 million dollars in federal grants. He has more than 200 publications of scientific papers in high-impact refereed journals, books, and chapters and his papers have appeared in high-impact journals such as Reading Research Quarterly, Scientific Studies of Reading, Journal of Educational Psychology and Review of Educational Research, the #1 rated journal in Education and Educational Research. He has received many national and international awards such as Erasmus Mundus fellowship from Germany and New Zealand Strategic Research Fellow and has been invited as a senior research scholar to universities and agencies in various countries.  In addition to being a Fellow of the International Academy for Research in Learning Disabilities, he has been elected as a Fellow of the American Educational Research Association (AERA), their highest award that exemplifies the highest standards of excellence. In 2019, he received the award from the Association of Reading and Writing in Asia for ‘extraordinary contribution to understanding literacy around the world’. In 2020, he received the Samuel Torrey and Joan Orton award which recognizes persons who have made a vital contribution to our scientific understanding of dyslexia. Dr. Joshi has also been selected as a Literacy Research Panel Honoree, International Literacy Association, 2019-2022.